Hearthstone

All you need to know about WESG's $225,000 Hearthstone action

0

Comments0

Just days after the second-largest stage in the official HCT circuit crowned its champion, Hearthstone's largest third party tournament opens the floodgates of action. Chinese host WESG, owned by Alibaba, is set to start its main covering multiple esports. For Hearthstone, this means a total of $225,000 up for grabs split across the main event and the women-only division.

With over thirty competitors, there's a lot to break down and remember. So here's a handy guide to all you need to know to follow the clashes in China.

The attendees

After months of thorough selection, the $190,000 main event boasts a lineup where seasoned names mix with players looking for their breakthrough. One important name will be absent from this list though: reigning champion Kaan "Fujitora" Çekli had issues with his visa, and won't be attending.

However, there are plenty of legendary names left. Jon "Orange" Westberg, 2016 WESG champion Euneil "Staz" Javiñas, Edward "Gallon" Goodwin, Wu "XiaoT" Juwei and USA's most dominant force last year, David "justsaiyan" Shan are just a couple of them. Unlike the CS:GO part of WESG, where some of the world's best teams are grouped together, the Hearthstone power is reasonably equally split.

Over in the women-only division, the prize pool sits at $35,000. Headlining the groups is Canadian Teebs "Teebs" Auberdine, who finished in the top 16 of HCT Toronto, and just last month ended third in the 27-player BAWOH tournament.

When and where to watch

The action will start today, at 4 am CET / 12 pm KST / 19:00 pm PST. All the Hearthstone matches will be broadcasted on WESG's dedicated Hearthstone Twitch channel.


0 Comments

Sort comment by :

Write your comments

Insert Image

Add Quotation

Add Translate Suggestion

Language select

Report