Miami University (Oh.) Wins 2017 NACE Overwatch Season

Overwatch was the first full semester of competition within the association, with each match playing to a best-of-three format. The finals being a best-of-five format.


Georgia Southern’s tank, Gracie “Hammie” Walsh shined big for the Eagles receiving the NACE Overwatch MVP award.


Miami University (OH.) advanced to the elimination rounds with an almost undefeated record (6-1) in pool play only dropping a game due to scheduling issues in the program. The Red Hawks swept through pool play with ease but faced their hardest challenge in the finals against Georgia Southern University (Ga.), however, the squad proved superior in the nail biting forth game to claim a 3-1 victory.


Overall, 14 teams participated in the 2017 NACE Overwatch Season. Teams were seeded by the NACE Competition Council, an elected membership group charged with developing policies and procedures for national competition.


NACE is the only association of college and university sponsored varsity esports programs that promotes the education and development of students through intercollegiate participation and the institutional commitment to support those initiatives.  Members of the association are dedicated to legitimizing collegiate esports and providing college students the opportunities to live their passion for competitive gaming, while pursuing a quality education.


NACE originated with six founding member institutions – Columbia College, Indiana Institute of Technology, Maryville University, Midland University, Robert Morris University and University of Pikeville – and has expanded to 58 institutions throughout the 2017-18 academic calendar with additional institutions expected to join soon.


For more information on the NACE National Invitational, including schedule and match-by-match results, visit

Sort by:

Comments :0

Insert Image

Add Quotation

Add Translate Suggestion

Language select