Official website code reveals teams for Call of Duty League 2020

▲ Image Source: MLG

On the morning of Wednesday, October 9, Activision-Blizzard revealed the twelve cities participating in the franchising of the Call of Duty League set to start in 2020. Unfortunately for Activision-Blizzard, some very easy to decipher website coding has revealed the names of the twelve franchises to the public. 

The Call of Duty 2020 League franchised cities were confirmed in a video from the new official website of the league that was tweeted Wednesday morning. It didn't take long for Adam Fitch, Editor of Esports Insider, to find the names of the location-based teams in the website code. 


If what was uncovered in the leak holds true, 12 teams participating in the 2020 Call of Duty League are:

London Royal Ravens
Chicago Huntsmen
Seattle Surge
Atlanta FaZe
OpTic Los Angeles
Minnesota Rokkr
Dallas Empire
Los Angeles Guerrillas
Paris Legion
Florida Mutineers
New York Subliners
Toronto Ultra


The part of the website coding that contained the names of the teams has since been deleted and re-written in the website's backend, so it's safe to say that whatever was found in the leak by Fitch was accurate. Before the coding was changed, Fitch also stated that team colors looked to be revealed in the code as well, but would have required far more effort to go into prior to the coding being reformatted. 

Fitch also pointed out in a following conversation to his original thread that the teams, which have also been confirmed by esports consultant Rod "Slasher" Breslau on twitter, line up with trademarks and domain names. Given that the specific cities particpating in the 2020 CoD League have already been revealed, Activision-Blizzard may decide to reveal the franchises themselves in the near future. 

Insert Image

Add Quotation

Add Translate Suggestion

Language select