New Legends of Runeterra expansion, Call of the Mountain: Targon as new region, 7 new champions

Image by: Riot Games


  • Legends of Runeterra's new expansion, Call of the Mountain, launches August 26
  • Seven new champion cards, 82 non-champion cards
  • Part of three-expansion set: Expansion 2 in October, Expansion 3 in December
    • 13 new champions, 156 new non-champion cards total
  • New region: Targon
  • Ladder reset with Call of the Mountain launch


The newest Legends of Runeterra expansion, Call of the Mountain, is coming very soon. This month soon. With seven new champions and 82 new non-champion cards, Call of the Mountain will release August 26, bringing along new meta, new ranked season, and most of all, a new region: Targon.


Image by: Riot Games


New Runeterra region: Targon


West of Shurima stands Targon, a sky-high mountainous region boasting Runeterra's highest peak and home to powerful warriors. Targon arrives to Legends of Runeterra as the eighth playable region, leaving only Shurima, Ixtal, and the Void unexplored.


Which are the champions of Targon?


The official League of Legends lore lists seven champions residing in the Targon region:


  • Leona
  • Diana
  • Soraka
  • Pantheon
  • Zoe
  • Aurelion Sol
  • Taric


For many of those (Zoe, Taric, Soraka, Leona, Diana, Aurealion Sol), voice lines were already data-mined from game files, which led to the heavy speculation that Targon will indeed be the next region in Legends of Runeterra.


With seven new champions being released with Call of the Mountain, one option is that all Targon champions are introduced. A more likely variant, however, is that other regions get something too, and it's not all Targon all the way. After all, there are six more new champions (13 total) to be revealed by the end of the year.



What other champions might be coming?


The same dataminers also found voice lines for the likes of Lulu, Riven, Nocturne, Trundle, Tahm Kench, Viktor, and Shyvana, and those aren't Targon champions at all. 


Legends of Runeterra third expansion: February 2021. What will be the ninth region?


The newly announced content roadmap for Legends of Runeterra also shows that a third expansion, alongside with the new, ninth region, will be coming in February 2021. With just two major regions left — Shurima, the Void, and Ixtal — it'll likely be one of them. 


While everything we say about the ninth region will be speculations, our money is on either Shurima or The Void. They are the more developed regions, and especially The Void has some iconic champions, including Kassadin, Kai'Sa, Cho'Gath, and Kha'Zix.


The Void is also a prominent enemy of the rest of Runeterra, which makes it a great thematic center for a major expansion. Champions like Aurelion Sol, Taric and Diana are known for fighting voidborn creatures and if they are already in the game with Targon, it makes the Void even more lucrative addition. 


Shurima is also well developed, with many champions hailing directly from it (like Azir, Sivir, Nasus, and Renekton), or currently residing there (like Varus or Brand). In fact, many Void champions were previously Shurimans, so either of the two regions is a likely contender. 

Sort by:

Comments :0

Insert Image

Add Quotation

Add Translate Suggestion

Language select