“But, why?” ESPN devalues the MSI positional power ranking of Jaewan “Wolf” Lee below SwordArt


While most SKT T1 players were placed No. 1 on the MSI positional power rankings released by ESPN on May 10 (KST), a day before the opening of the Mid Season Invitational (MSI), Wolf was the only one brought down to No. 2 in the power ranking.

Wolf is known as the best support worldwide. His career, from all the aspects in his past performances, is unrivaled. However, he has been devalued for quite some time, perhaps due to the limitation of his position as a support.

Because of the fact that all players of SKT T1 are aces, he was not able to stack up enough MVP points. Hyunwoo “CloudTemplar” Lee, a game-specialized commentator of LCK, mentioned him during his personal broadcast as “a player who does not shine as much as he deserves to, since he has no fault as a support whatsoever”.

Despite this appraisal, ESPN rated Wolf below SwordArt, the support of Flash Wolves. SwordArt is surely a great player without question who is capable of an excellent laning phase and skilled initiation. However, it is still questionable to claim that he is a better player than Wolf without any concrete evidence.

4 victories at LCK, 2 from the LoL World Championship, an MSI championship, the IEM World Championship; Wolf’s history features domination of all major leagues along with the LCK this season. His fans responded to the release, saying that “Wolf has been undervalued once again”, “it is a nonsense that a player with so many victories is placed No. 2”, and “ESPN loses public trust due to Wolf being placed at No. 2”.

MSI positional power rankings by ESPN


1. Seunghun “Huni” Heo (SKT T1)
2. Kevin “Hauntzer” Yarnell (TSM)
3. Daehan “Expect” Ki (G2)
4. “MMD” (Flash Wolves)
5. Changyu “957” Ke (Team WE)
6. “Stark” (Gigabyte Marines)


1. Wangho “Peanut” Han (SKT T1)
2. “Karsa” (Flash Wolves)
3. Renjie “Condi” Xiang (Team WE)
4. Kangyun “Trick” Kim (G2)
5. Dennis “Svenskeren” Johnsen (TSM)
6. “Levi” (Gigabyte Mariens)


1. Sanghyuk “Faker” Lee (SKT T1)
2. “Maple” (Flash Wolves)
3. Soren “Bjergsen” Bjerg (TSM)
4. Luka “PerkZ” Perkovic (G2)
5. Hanwei “Xiye” Su (Team WE)
6. “Optimus” (Gigabyte Marines)


1. Junsik “Bang” Bae (SKT T1)
2. Jesper “Zven” Svenningsen (G2)
3. Sungjun “Mystic” Jin (Team WE)
4. “Betty” (Flash Wolves)
5. Jason “WildTurtle” Tran (TSM)
6. “Slay” (Gigabyte Marines)


1. “SwoardArt” (Flash Wolves)
2. Jaewan “Wolf” Lee (SKT T1)
3. Donghyun “Ben” Nam (Team WE)
4. Vincent “Biofrost” Wang (TSM)
5. Alfonso “Mithy” Aguirre Rodriguez (G2)
6. “Archie” (Gigabyte Marines)

Insert Image

Add Quotation

Add Translate Suggestion

Language select