Hearthstone Grandmasters' second season kicks off coming Friday

Photo by Helena Kristiansson for Blizzard Entertainment


Hearthstone of the highest caliber returns once more this weekend. After Li "Liooon" Xiaomeng won the Hearthstone Global final in November, Hearthstone Grandmasters commences coming Friday. Like last year, there are three regions to follow: Americas, Asia-Pacific, and Europe. However, Blizzard is introducing some format changes to their all-star competition.


Hearthstone Grandmasters 2020 is split up in two seasons, and each season has three phases. During the first three weeks of the competition, all participants will play in a Swiss format on Wednesdays and Thursdays. After the Swiss rounds have all been played, the top eight point-earning players of their region are put in Division A, while places nine to sixteen form Division B. Each division then enters a four-week Round Robin, the conclusion of which will determine who fights for glory and who fights for their Grandmasters slot. During the eighth and final week of the Grandmasters season, the top players of each division fight for a ticket to BlizzCon's finals, whereas the bottom players fight to not be relegated out of Grandmasters.


Image Source: Blizzard Entertainment


The second year of Hearthstone Grandmasters sees more changes than the structural ones: players will have to adapt to several formats too. During the first week of Grandmasters, the good old "Conquest with a ban" will be used. This transitions into a Last Hero Standing, one ban format in tweek two. The third week has players bring out all ten classes for a Conquest match where they can each ban six of their opponents' decks. From there on, the remaining weeks will be played in a best of five setting using the standard Conquest format.


The following players will be competing in Hearthstone's Grandmasters first season:


Americas Asia-Pacific Europe
Brian “bloodyface” Eason Yashina “Alutemu” Nozomi George “BoarControl” Webb
Eddie “Eddie” Lui Ng “blitzchung” Wai Chung Elias “Bozzzton” Sibelius
Guillermo “Empanizado” Tolosa Cheonsu “che0nsu” Kim Raphael “Bunnyhoppor” Peltzer
Fei “ETC” Liang Hyun Jae “Dawn” Jang Kevin “Casie” Eberlein
James “Firebat” Kostesich Hyun-Soo “Flurry” Cho Theo “Felkeine” Dumont
Frank “Fr0zen” Zhang Dylan “FroStee” O’Mallon Casper “hunterace” Notto
Edward “Gallon” Goodwin Sato “glory” Kenta Jaromir “Jarla” Vyskočil
David “justsaiyan” Shan Tsz Kin “Kin0531” Lo Aleksandr “Kolento” Malsh
Mihai “Lnguagehackr” Dragalin Wataru “posesi” Ishibashi Pavel “Pavel” Beltukov
Jerome “Monsanto” Faucher Dasol “Ryvius” Sim Dima “Rdu” Radu
Muzahidul “muzzy” Islam Tsu-Lin “SamuelTsao” Tsao Linh “Seiko” Nguyen
Facundo “Nalguidan” Pruzzo Wei-Chieh “Shaxy” Liu Vladislav “SilverName” Sinotov
Jason “PapaJason” Meller Euneil "Staz" Javiñas Joffrey “Swidz” Cunat
Francisco “PNC” Leimontas Jung-Soo “Surrender” Kim Thijs “Thijs” Molendijk
Ryan “Purple” Murphy-Root Wei-Lin “Tom60229” Chen Torben “Viper” Wahl
Paul “Zalae” Nemeth Tyler “Tyler” Hoang Nguyen Martin “Zhym” Prête 


The broadcast starts at 2 AM PDT / 11 AM CEST / 6 PM KST on Friday, April 17, and can be followed live on Hearthstone's YouTube channel. Dan "Frodan" Chou and TJ "Azumo" Sanders will be the casters for the Americas region, Jia Dee and Darroch Brown cast the Asia-Pacific region, and Europe's Grandmasters adventures will be narrated by Simon "Sottle" Welch and Alex "Raven" Baguley.


Sort by:

Comments :0

Insert Image

Add Quotation

Add Translate Suggestion

Language select