Riot Korea announces the LCK Awards, consists of 7 different awards for players and coaches


On the 7th (KST), Riot Games Korea (Riot Korea), in their efforts to make esports into a part of traditional sports, announced the creation of the ‘LCK Awards’ alongside the start 2020 Woori Bank LoL Champions Korea (LCK) Spring’.


The LCK Awards has 7 different categories. First, the ‘All-LCK team’ award is for the players that excelled above all others in their roles, and to receive it, the players must have at least played 18 games in the split. In the past, LCK awarded players based on their KDA, but since this method was advantageous to the stronger teams of the league, it was harder for players in weaker teams to be awarded. With the new All-LCK team award, all players will now be graded equally for their play.


The second award is the ‘Best Coach’ award. This applies to all head coaches and coaches that are listed in the roster. They’re the centerpiece of the team’s operations and standings, yet they’re often overshadowed by the players, so this award is to recognize their efforts in the team.


The ‘Young Player’ award is for those that will carry on the future generation of the LCK. It is for all players under the age of 19 that have played at least 18 games in the split, and since players such as Jeong “Chovy” JI-hoon, Heo “ShowMaker” Su, Lee “Effort” Sang-ho are eligible for this award, much competition amongst such qualified players will be expected to come.


The ‘Regular Season MVP’ is for the players that played at least 18 sets in the split, and is voted through the voting group, and the ‘Finals MVP’ is awarded to the player that performed the best in the finals of the LCK.


The players and the coaches will be awarded these 5 awards at the end of each split, and will be voted by the 40 members of the voting group, which consists of each team, head coaches, domestic and global casters, the analyst desk, observers, and journalists. The head coaches and the players that are in this voting group cannot vote for themselves, and the results will be revealed for transparency.


‘Player of the Split’ will be automatically awarded to the player that is named 'Player of the Game’, the most number of times. ‘Player of the Game’ is the MVP of each set, and the voting system has been revamped to be more transparent. Up until last year, the global casters, the analyst desk, the observer, and the reporters voted the ‘Player of the Game’. However, starting this Spring split, 12 people will now vote for the ‘Player of the Game’, where Korean casters joined to have for 12 people vote for a player after each set, and is now revealed after each set.


The following is the prize money for 7 different categories of the LCK Awards.



All-LCK Team - 10,000,000 KRW (roughly 8,500 USD), with 2,000,000 (roughly 1,700 USD) going to each player.


Best Coach - 1,500,000 KRW (roughly 1,300 USD)


Young Player - 1,500,000 KRW (roughly 1,300 USD)


Regular Season MVP - 5,000,000 KRW (roughly 4,200 USD)


Finals MVP - 5,000,000 KRW (roughly 4,200 USD)


Player of the Split - 2,000,000 KRW (roughly 1,700 USD)

Sort by:

Comments :0

Insert Image

Add Quotation

Add Translate Suggestion

Language select