The Steam Awards have been handed out—Sekiro: Shadows Die Twice wins Game of the Year


Most awards from 2019 have been handed out already, but Steam just announced theirs. Valve's PC gaming platform leaves it up to the community every year to decide which titles walk away with an extra trophy to put in their cabinet. Since the awards were first introduced in 2016, categories have changed every year.


One consistent award, of course, is the Game of the Year award. This year it went to Sekiro: Shadows Die Twice, developed by FromSoftware and brainchild of legendary designer Hidetaka Miyazaki, also known for the Dark Souls series and Bloodborne. Valve wrote: "Maybe it was its immersive gameplay, or its gripping story... its well-crafted characters, immaculate design, or addictive multiplayer. Whatever the reason, the winner of 2019's Game of the Year Award is an instant classic."


The other winners


Beat Saber, the VR game that combines Guitar Hero with lightsabers, won the VR Game of the Year award. Praised for its innovative, simple design but challenging gameplay, Beat Saber was the talk of the VR platform ever since its beta period. The "Labor of Love" award, assigned to the game that continues to impress with new content even though it's been released before 2019, went to Grand Theft Auto 5. It's the second year in a row that Rockstar's most famous title wins this award, and the third time GTA 5 wins a Steam Award at all.



DayZ scooped up the "Better with Friends" award. The game, though playable since 2013, was officially released in December 2018 for PC players, and in 2019 for console players. No art evolves without innovation, which is why the "Most Innovative Gameplay" went to My Friend Pedro. A Plague Tale: Innocence outclassed titles like Far Cry New Dawn and Gears 5 to grab the "Outstanding Story-Rich Game" award, while Indie game Gris won the award for Outstanding Visual Style.


Lastly, there was the "Best Game You Suck At" award. Sometimes there's a game so incredidbly good that you can't stop playing it, even though you're getting stomped by your opponents. Mortal Kombat 11 was voted winner in this category—the only esports title to scoop up a prize this year.


Image via FromSoftware

Insert Image

Add Quotation

Add Translate Suggestion

Language select