2019 Overwatch League schedule, format changes announced

The Overwatch League returns this Valentine's Day -- Thursday, February 14th -- with eight new teams and a completely revamped tournament schedule. Blizzard announced the changes earlier today on their official website, but we have the TL;DR for you right here:

-- Atlanta, Paris, Toronto, and Washington, D.C. will join the Atlantic Division

-- Chengdu, Guangzhou, Hangzhou, and Vancouver will join the Pacific Division

--  Regular season still consists of four five-week stages, but teams will only play 28 matches during the regular season (meaning seven matches per team per stage)

-- Teams will play one, two, or three matches per week "to help players stay at the top of their game, as well as give teams more opportunities to visit their home cities during the season"

-- First three stages will have stage playoffs consisting of the top 8 teams in that stage; divisional winners will be seeded into the #1 and #2 slots in stage playoffs bracket, following by next six teams regardless of division

-- All-Star break being moved to middle of Stages 2 and 3

-- Post-season playoffs will consist of divisional champs; the next four teams in the overall standings, regardless of division; and, the two winners of a play-in tournament consisting of the 7th -12th placed teams

▲ Full OWL 2019 Atlantic and Pacific Divisions - via @OverwatchLeague

Header image by Robert Paul for Blizzard Ent.

Sort by:

Comments :0

Insert Image

Add Quotation

Add Translate Suggestion

Language select